A Wedding Roadtrip to Remember

I’ve been to 14 weddings in my life. Out of those 14, Iv’e stood in 4, performed in 1, danced in 2. Iv’e got one on the way in June (no dancing involved, just standing). Chelsie and Jon’s wedding was by far the most unique. Ive never been friends of the bride and groom, and this will be my 2nd college friends wedding I have attended so far. What made this wedding so far out and unique was how we got there. Allow me to explain:

It all started on Mel’s birthday, May 9. Midnight was wrung in by watching Rat Race, but I’m sure she didn’t mind terribly. Little sleep was received by anyone that night. When we actually awoke, we both headed off to work. Nothing real interesting there, but I did get someone to work my lunch shift (blessings!). I headed out to find an outfit for the wedding (yes, on the day I was leaving). Long story short, I passed up a $140 outfit for a $50 outfit (the shoes were more than the top… How is that?). Swifty finally showed up at the house about 7:00. Mel, Swift and I were off to Minnesota.

Before we got in the car, Mel says in response to being able to watch a movie on the way, “Watch, his cigarette lighter wont work.” I say something to the effect of, “You pessimist.” We get in the car. Swift says, “Hey you got any tunes?” I say “Yeah, on my computer. I can plug in my computer with this.” “My cigarette lighter doesn’t work.” Mel and I exchange a look. And that was just the beginning.

“Do you know how to get to Chelsie’s?” I ask. “Nope, but maybe Troy Poorman does. I’m staying at his house.” says Swifty. . . . . . Mel -“How were you planning on getting a gift before the wedding?” Me *A look of slight panic* “I guess we can borrow someone’s car and shop.” *Brilliant idea strikes my head* “Hey Swift, have you gotten them a gift yet?” “Nope.” “Wanna go out tomorrow and get one?” “Sure!”

Me-“Oooo a Koosh ball!”

Me-“Shoot, I dont even have Chelsie’s address to get the key to the neighbor’s.”

Me-“Perhaps there is a wireless signal at this rest stop. . . nope.”

We arrive at Troy’s house after 5 hours. I find a wireless signal. I get the address. We pull away. We drive around the neighborhood till we find Chelsie’s. Got the key and a piece of paper with the directions on it. Can’t find the house. Drive back to Chelsie’s. *Flash Back* — “Ok Chelsie, so what your saying is, technically we could walk behind your house and walk to your neighbors house.” “Well yeah I guess.” *End Flash Back* We do just that. With a blow dryer concealed so no one thinks we are a bunch of robbers, we walk though Chelsie’s backyard. We walk in, never see the owner. We even leave the next morning never seeing the owner of the house! We even go to wedding and never meet her!

The morning of the wedding went something like this: Swift-“I think i’m in front of the house.” *Open door* “You are!… how did you find it?!” “I -don’t -know.” Swift-“Let’s go to target.” “We should pick up that couch.” “I feel under-dressed.”

Mel and I walk arm in arm with Swifty into Target. “I’m getting the hot chocolate frother!” “You bite!”

The kitchen aisle. “What does it even look like…” “Hey! The juicer!” Mel-“It’s not metal.” Me-“So.” Swift-“Are these the mixing bowls?” . . . Me-“Let’s get them the DVD player.” Mel-“Wanna split it?” Swift -“Wait, wanna split it three ways?” So Mel, Swift, and I all split a gift. We borrowed wrapping paper from the Poorman’s, forgot a card, had to get one, Swift threw away the directions to the church, dug in the trash, signed the card in the car.

The wedding was beautiful. Quick. Jon tried to kiss her after one of the prayers. That was unique. Free bags of chocolate!! Greatest wedding gift ever.

Leave a comment